Agape

1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, love each other deeply , because love covers a multitude of sins.”

Did you guys know I have a tattoo? Yup.. I do! It’s the word agape written across the back of my neck. No… not a grape like the fruit.. and no.. not a gape as in a door is open. Agape. I would love to tell you WHY I chose to have this tattoo. Let’s start with what it means:

Agape (greek):“Unconditional love that is always giving and impossible to take or be a taker. It devotes total commitment to seek your highest best no matter how anyone may respond. This form of love is totally selfless and does not change whether the love given is returned or not.”

The basics of it… love. But there are several times of love within the greek language: philia which is brotherly love, eros which is sexual love, storge which is family love, and agape which is sacrificial love. More specifically.. the type of love that God has shown us. It is an extremely hard kind of love because it is one that is difficult for humans to duplicate. Guys, God loved us SO much that he sent his son to die for US. That’s agape love. How can we possibly display such love? It’s hard, it really really is. We can TRY though and that’s what counts. For me, agape means: loving those who persecute you, loving your neighbor who drives you crazy, loving the stranger at the gym who shows off, loving the person who swiped your parking, loving the coworker that cooks fish in the microwave and loving your enemies BUT without expecting anything in return. It’s loving EVERYONE, no matter what. And the agape type of love is a conscious decision, it normally doesn’t happen naturally.

I feel as though love is an important subject right now. I don’t always understand what’s going on with politics or what the latest company or group of people is that we’re told to hate, but I do know that if there was more love in this world (no, trust me, I’m not a hippie), it would be a much better place. And I know that as a Christian, I am commanded to love. My love for God should inspire my love of his people as well. And I should love others because I am inspired by God’s love for me. See the cycle? It’s pretty cool. All this political hate that’s going on hurts my heart and I know it hurts God’s heart. I wish all everyone could get along and stop arguing so dang much, especially on social media platforms. Just LOVE! Love the person you see on Facebook who posts a view opposite of yours and show love to the person you see picketing in the streets. I wish that my words could make some sort of difference, but, I know that they most likely won’t. So instead I’ll use my actions in my day to day life to make a difference. This kind of love will go unnoticed by human kind but I know my heavenly Father sees this and is pleased. I am living in view of eternity as my pastor says. And it’s a good view to have.

So, people, go out as God has commanded and love others (more than yourself!). And if you don’t believe in God, just do something good for this hurting country and world, and love your neighbor. Remember agape in your day to day life and maybe, just maybe the world will become a better place.

Leave a Reply

